About

Early Years Teacher & Childminder

I have been working with children for over 15 years.  I have gained many experiences and qualifications on the way, whilst raising my own three children.  I understand all too well how tricky the right childcare can be, and I strive to provide a provision that supports working parents as well as nurture and support your child’s development during their time away from you.

I have worked in many primary schools, either in an Early Years or Special Needs capacity.  I am a qualified Early Years Teacher, and passionate about allowing a child to learn and develop in their own individual style.  I am very interested in the ‘green’ approach to growing up, providing as many outdoor opportunities as possible. I am lucky enough to have a large garden for children to explore, which I intend to exploit to grow some fruit and veg (and cooking!) and keep a few chickens as the business grows.

I have been very interested in language development in my career which has led me to learn sign language.  I am BSL trained and am able to use this to support language development in babies, or work with children with Special needs or Deaf Children and Parents.

I spend a lot of time out and about in the local community, and pay regular visits to the beach, local toddler groups, forests and National Trust parks, as well as play parks.

I am passionate about outdoor learning in child development and in the future I would like to include a Forest school approach to my practice, I look forward to extending my training this way one day.

I live and work from my family home, where two of my three children and our collection of friendly pets also live.

Imogen, my eldest daughter is 21, and lives Axminster.  She is training at a local nursery and comes to work with me as an assistant sometimes.  

Jade, my second daughter, is 18.  Jade has just finished her A levels at Exeter College and is working in a local restaurant.  Both have completed DBS checks.

Kael, my son is 11.  He goes to Mrs Ethelstone’s Primary School, and loves PE and swimming.  Kael has taken on the responsibility of activity manager of the school club, suggesting I resource a basketball hoop and a trampoline!

We have a friendly dog who lives with us.  Ziva, she is 4 years old and has a playful cheeky nature.  She enjoys being around the children, and they like her.  She lives in the kitchen and I am always present when the children share time with her.

Mouzer our cat also lives here, she is a little black and white cat likes being at home, usually sitting in a high perch watching the world go by.  She does like to come and play or have a cuddle if she can find one!  Merlin is a tabby cat, who can be quite nervous so tends to stay out of the way.  Aslan is the latest addition, and grown up from a kitten with the children.  He is very popular with all who knows him.

We have a collection of chickens that the children help care for and collect eggs.  In the summer there is often a chick or two as well.

Please continue to look at my website to see the services I off, and if’d you like any more information get in touch.

Jess